Photo Credit: FRIED ELLIOTT /

2018 Meisterschaft 17 District

May 31 - June 3, 2018



Chiemsee Yacht Club     Germany


Contact : Christian Nehammer

Michael Fischer, Albert Sturm, Lev Shnyr, Alexey Zhivotovskiy, Leopold Fricke, Christoph Müller (vlnr). Foto © CYC

A large field of 28 participants had reported to the championship of the 17th district of the International Star Class. In this regatta also the Maibockpokal was sailed for the 55th time. Ultimately, however, then launched only 23 teams, including two Russian, five Austrian and one French team.

All eyes were fixed on the weather, because the forecasts were not intoxicating, especially since thunderstorms were always announced for the late afternoon. After the welcome, it was called Waiting. The signal was then also at 15:30 clock. The start was abandoned, but the race then ended "by itself", as the storm warning did not allow a start and all unrecorded things drove home. The good mood but did not detract, at the next barbecue it was all good taste.

The next day a pleasing picture, because it blew a beautiful west wind of strength 2bft. However, the speedily started race had to be stopped after the first cross, as the wind fell asleep, another attempt in the afternoon failed as well. However, the evening dinner and the music could still calm the mind.

On the third day, meanwhile it had become Saturday, the same picture: doldrums. There was a first promising chance then at 14:00 and the long-suffering race director Hans Vogt - first condolences were already received - tried his luck and was rewarded with a first race, which was reasonably well regular ended, which is not the second could claim because it had to be shortened in the face of an impending slack. In addition, the wind conditions were anything but real. Nevertheless, the second race was "in the bag".

Last day. The readiness to leave was set at 9:00. Hans Vogt wanted to be there at all costs, if contrary to expectations the possibility of a start should open. And indeed, around 10:00, the first attempt was made, but was, as still more times, destroyed by a general start. Despite this, two more races could be finished, so that the championship was saved, beyond that was still a "strings". inside and all - participants and race committee - were reasonably reconciled.

Won the team Alexey Zhivotovskiy / Lev Shnyr from Russia in front of Albert Sturm / Michael Fischer Union Yacht Club Attersee and Leopold Fricke / Christoph Müller from the CYC. Alexey Zhivotovskiy and Lev Shnyr won as the best non-Bavarian team the special prize given by the CBM fleet, a handmade leather pants for everyone.

written by Richard Brandl