August 2008

Star Class News


Classified Ads



Online Store

Members Forum
Open Forum

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers

Gold Medalists Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson
Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson

Mateusz Kusznierewicz and Dominik Zycki (POL)
Mateusz Kusznierewicz and Dominik Zycki - Olympics 4th

Flavio Marazzi and Enrico de Maria (SUI)
Flavio Marazzi and Enrico de Maria - Olympics 5th
Photos by Clive Mason / Getty Images
Gold Medalist Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson
Olympic Champions

Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson (GBR)
Photo by Clive Mason / Getty Images
The Fixture List (schedule of upcoming class championships) has been published for 2009. Also, the 2008-2009 winter schedule of racing in Miami is available.

The entry list is set for the 2008 North American Championship at Gull Lake, Michigan.

2008 Qingdao Olympics
As you know by now, Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson (GBR) are the Gold Medalists of the 2008 Olympics following a very eventful medal race. Silver medalists are Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada (BRA) and the bronze medal went to Fredrik Loof and Anders Ekstrom. Both Percy and Scheidt have gold medals from previous Olympics in the Finn and Laser classes and Loof has a previous bronze in the Finn class. Gary Jobson reported on the medal race for

District Championship Results
The 13th District Championship, sailed at Plau am See. Germany, was won by Michael Ilgenstein and Kai Falkenthal. It was announced that the 2009 13th District Championship will be May 15-17 at the
KNZ&RV (Royal Netherlands Sail and Rowing Club), IJsselmeer, Mulden, The Netherlands

National Results
In Germany, Peter Moeckl won the 100-Jährige (Masters Regatta)
for the 2nd year in a row, although this time he moved from crew to skipper. His crew was Fritz Girr. The winners at the Zeller Cup were Heiner Frowein and Harald Boehler.

In Austria, the Austrian Championship was won by Sibylle and Michael Merk.

In Italy, 27th Trofeo Gianni Lillia winners were Vicenzo Locatilli / Giuseppe Oggioni.and Antonio Balderi and Amerigo Anguillesi took the Trofeo Sargentini.

Sweden's Open International Championship was sailed at Arkösund and won by Tom Lofstedt and Martin Larsson.

In the USA on the east coast, the Star class winners at the 2008 Marblehead NOOD in New England were John MacCausland and George Iverson. MacCausland returned the next weekend with Rodrigo Meireles to win the Sunapee Open in New York State and then finished off his third weekend with a win at the New York State Championship. The Allen R. Burtis New England Masters Championship at Boston Harbor was won by Chet Proctor and Kip Gardner. 

On the Chesapeake Bay, Elliot Oldak and Chris Hardin won the Miles River Yacht Club Annual Regatta and, for the second year in a row, John Vanderhoff, sailing with Adam Dolezal, took the trophy at the Chesapeake Lipton Cup in its 82nd edition (dating back to 1926).

In the USA midwest, Jack Ricard and Chris Wallner were the winners of the Sheridan Shore Race Weekend with Mickey and Chris Nielson winning the District 4 Green Star. The 79th Annual Lorain Sailing & Yacht Club Regatta in Ohio was won by Mike Phinney and Brad Balmert.

In the USA rocky mountain area, Timothy Seeling won the Lake Dillon Open.

In eastern Canada, Brian Cramer and Matt Johnston won the WLOC Fleet Championship.

In Brazil, Lars Grael and Marcelo Jordao won the Campeonato Estadual Rio de Janeiro and Daniel Wilcox / Andre Lekszycki won the Regata Axel Von Lachmann.
In Argentina, Alberto Zanetti won the Sisti Cup.
Bronze medalists Fredrik Loof and Anders Ekstrom
Olympic bronze medlaists Fredrik Loof and Anders Ekstrom

Start at the 2008 Olympics
 Start at the 2008 Olympics 
All photos by Clive Mason / Getty Images
Silver Medalists Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada
Olympic silver medlaists Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada

Upcoming Events

Update your District's calendar
District 2 2008 District 2 Championship 9/05/2008 - 9/07/2008
District 21 2008 District 21 Championship 9/05/2008 - 9/07/2008
District 12 Championat de la Flotte de Quebec 9/06/2008 - 9/07/2008
District 1 2009 Open Finnish Championship 9/06/2008 - 9/07/2008
District 18 2008 District 9 Championship 9/12/2008 - 9/14/2008
District 5 48th Annual Olympic Classes Regatta 9/13/2008 - 9/14/2008

- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8373
ISCYRA Central Office
914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220
Annapolis, Maryland 21403 USA

Phone:  +1 443 458 5733
+1 443 458 5735