eStarlights of the International Star Class Yacht Racing Association

August 2010 

Star Class News

Star Regattas

Class Information
Class Rules
Class History

Life Members
About theStar 
Online Store

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers

Classified Ads

Photos by Peter Kaehl

Entry is available for the first Southern Hemisphere Championship in Olivos, Argentina on December 3-8.

The 2010 Eastern Hemisphere Championship (September 8-12 at Hamburg, Germany) has an entry list of  46 teams. The 2011 Eastern Hemisphere Championship will be at Helsinki, Finland,  June 30 - July 8.

An announcement has been published about the 2011 Western Hemisphere Championship that will be held on Lake Springfield, Michigan, USA on June 6-11.

The 2013 Star World Championship will be sailed at the San Diego Yacht Club, California, USA., dates to be determined.

The Star Class online store has recently added new ties and scarfs and will soon have belts and key fobs.

July-August Racing Results
The 2010 North American Champions are George Szabo and Frithjof Kleen, sailing at San Diego, California.

2010 District Champions
The 1st District Champion, Jud Smith, defended his 2009 title, sailing this year with David Timberlake.
The 2nd District Championship / 76th Miller Series was sailed at Gibson Island, Maryland and won by John MacCausland and Brian Fatih.
The 5th District Championship / Lipton Cup went to Mark Reynolds and Hal Haenel, sailing in Santa Barbara, California.
The 6th District Championship was sailed at Victoria, British Columbia and won by Carl and Jamie Buchan.
The 10th District Champions are Stefan Winqvist and Olle Totterman, sailing in Helsinki, Finland.
The 17th District Championship, held on the Starnberger See in Germany, was won by Matthias Miller and Benedikt Wenk. The 21st District Champions are Paul Kresge and Earl, sailing at Lake Dillon, Colorado, USA.

The last ISAF World Cup of 2010, the Skandia Sail for Gold Regatta was sailed at Weymouth, Great Britian and won by Peter O'Leary and Frithjof Kleen.

On the Woerthersee, Austria, Walter Passeger and Philipp Krieber won the Freundschaftsregatta and
on the Wolfgangsee in St. Gilgen, Wolfgand Koechert and Michael Bergthaler were the winners of the Falkensteintrophy. On the Traunsee, the Traunsteingams International Austrian Championship was won by Johann Spitzauer and Adolf Luzlbauer.

In Germany, Axel Stein and Arndt Glunde won the Neuschwansteinpreis sailed on the Forggensee. Kilian Knig and Johannes Brack won the Star Cup at Waldeck-Scheid, and on the Tegernsee, Thomas and Martina Hopf  won the Silber Star. In Hamburg, Michael Ilgenstein and Philip Behn won the Bahnwaerter-Preis. At Berlin, Robert and Philipp Stanjek took the Potsdamer Kanne.

On Lake Lucerne in Switzerland, the International Swiss Championship was won by Urs Hunkeler and Oliver Fuchs. Sailed as part of the International Championship was the Star Trophy Urnersee-Brunnen, also won by Hunkeler / Fuchs. In Steckborn, the Sommer Regatta / Bernina Cup was won by Hans Stockli and Urs Spahr. The Ost West Preis - Rostige Kanne  title was won by Jean Pascal Chatagny and Patrick Ducommun on Lake Thun.

At Mandello del Lario, Italy, the Trofeo Gini  winners were Vincenzo Locatelli and Giuseppe Oggioni. On the Lago di Bracciano, the Trofeo Bracciano was won by Silvio Santoni and Fabio Toccoli. At Viareggio, the 4th Trophy Francesco Sargentini was won by Enrico Chieffi and Manlio Corsi with the Campionato d'Estate winners being Roberto Righi/Davide Bortoletto.

At Nice, France,  the 2010-2011 season started with Xavier and Nathalie Rohart winning the first event,  Dot's n' Dot's.

In the USA's Great Lakes region , Peters / Jensen won the LSYC One Design Regatta. and Thad Brej and Glen Baker won the 4th District Green Star.  The Paw Paw Lake Regatta winners were Jack Rickard and John Corrigan.

The 2nd District Green Star, sailed in Maryland, was taken by Laura and Read Beigel  in a combined summer regatta of the Miles River Yacht Club, won by John Vanderhoff and Adam Dolezal. Vanderhoff and Dolezal also won the Tred Avon Yacht Club Lipton Cup.

In New York State, Brian Cramer and Mat Johnston were the winners of the New York State Championship. Jud Smith won the New England Masters / Marblehead NOOD sailed in Masssachusetts and Josh Phypers and Fritz Koopman took the Ned Hay Regatta.. In Colorado, Stephan Gunther and Tim Ostrander won the Dillon Open, and in California, the King Of Spain trophy, sailed just before the North American Championship in San Diego, was won by Rod Hagebols and Phil Chadwick.

On the west coast of Canada in Vancouver, Tim Stamper and Justin Chant won the Kitsilano Invitational.

Austrian International Championship. Photo by
Coming Up Update your District's calendar

District 4 Pennell Memorial Regatta 09/04/2010 - 09/05/2010
District 10 Open Finnish Championship - GP6 09/04/2010 - 09/05/2010
District 1 Bedford Pitcher 09/11/2010 - 09/12/2010
District 13 Delta Lloyd Open Dutch Championship 09/17/2010 - 09/19/2010
District 17 Kronprinz Rupprecht Preis 09/18/2010 - 09/19/2010
- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8430
ISCYRA Central Office
914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220
Annapolis, Maryland 21403 USA

Phone: +1 443 458 5733
Fax: +1 443 458 5735