eStarlights of the International Star Class Yacht Racing Association

Jan-Feb 2010 

Star Class News

Star Regattas

Class Information
Class Rules
Class History

Life Members
About theStar 
Online Store

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers

Classified Ads

Flavio Marazzi/Enrico De Maria

Torben Grael/Marcelo Ferreira

2010 World Championship Winners
Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson (GBR)
Photos by Fried Elliott
The 83rd running of the  Bacardi Cup in early March (now part of Miami Sailing Week) presently has over 70 entries. In April, Stars move to Nassau, the Bahamas  for the Western Hemisphere Championship , April 10-17, 2010 (information on the event and the preliminary entry list).

January-February Racing Results
The 2010 World Championship brought 73 boats from 16 countries to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in January. Winning the Gold Star for the second time was Iain Percy, sailing with Andrew Simpson (GBR) . In second overall were Flavio Marazzi and Enrico de Maria (SUI) with Torben Grael and Marcelo Ferreira (BRA) finishing third. Reports on the racing were provided by Lynn Fitzpatrick and Fried Elliott was there for photos.

The day before the Worlds, the 66th Darke de Mattos regatta was sailed as  the practice race  for the Worlds. This was won by Gastao Brun and Gustavo Kunze.

Viareggio, Italy  Alessandro Lanfranchi and Alessandro Cinquini won the Trofeo Burlamacco.

At Antibes, France, the Ski Voile Antibes winners were Arpad Litkey and Akos Mesterhazy-Nagy. At Nice, Nobody's Perfect Tentative was won by Jean-Gabriel Charton and Andrea Orlando . Charton and Orlando traded places on the boat and again won - this time the Coupe Red Star.

In the USA, the Miami sailing season in January started with the cold and windy Levin Cup won by Andy Macdonald and Austin Sperry. The Walker Cup in late January was won by Mark Reynolds and Christian Giannini and the ISAF world Cup event, the Rolex Miami Olympic Classes Regatta, winners were Eivind Melleby and Petter Pedersen. The Zag Masters (for skippers over 50 years of age) was run under heavy wind conditions up to 30 knots. Mark Reynolds and Hal Haenel took the event with two firsts and a second.

In California, Larry Whipple and Rick Peters were top boat at the first event of 2010, the Southern California Yacht Associatoin Midwinters..
Coming Up Update your District's calendar

District 9 Championnat de Ligue Cote d'Azur 03/06/2010 - 03/07/2010
District 20 Bacardi Cup 03/08/2010 - 03/20/2010 
District 5 Alamitos Bay YC OCR 03/20/2010 - 03/21/2010
District 9 Coupe Filance 03/21/2010
District 9 Osterregatte 04/02/2010 - 04/03/2010
- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8411
ISCYRA Central Office
914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220
Annapolis, Maryland 21403 USA

Phone: +1 443 458 5733
Fax: +1 443 458 5735