June 2006

Star Class Announcements


Classified Ads




Online Store
Members Forum
Open Forum

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers



John Dane and Austin Sperry
2006 Western Hemisphere Champions
Photo by Jan Walker

Class Update
John Dane and Austin Sperry are the 2006 Western Hemisphere Champions. Photos of the event at Annapolis were taken by Jan Walker.

New District Champions are Diego Negri and Luigi Viale in the 14th District and Hans Spitzauer/Christian Nehammer in the 17th District.

Remember that proof of insurance on your boat is now being requested at registration for many regattas.

A clarification of the Silver Star Qualifiers for the 2006 World Championships in San Francisco is posted on the web site.

A history of the Hamburg and Lübecker Bay fleets, written by Marko Hasche, was published in connection with the German International Championship.

    Racing Reports

(click photos for larger images)

2006 Swedish Grand Prix 1
Winners Mats Johansson/Leif Möller

Rick Merriman/Rick Peters
4th, Western Hemispheres
photo by Jan Walker

Action at the Swiss Championship
photo by Christoph Schumacher

May Results
The last 10 days of May saw many Star class events in Europe and North America with over 180 boats racing. The Silver Star Western Hemisphere Championship was in Annapolis, USA at the same time as the German International Championship and the 43rd Maibock in Germany, the Swiss International Championship, and the Holland Regatta.

With 60 boats on the line, the German International Championship, the largest event in number of entries (60), was won by Robert Stanjek and Frithjof Kleen. Taking the Swiss International Championship was the team of Flavio Marazzi and Etienne Huter. The Holland Regatta was won by Xavier Rohart and Pascal Rambeau, and the Maibock victors were Dietmar Gfreiner and Stephanie Breitenstein

Earlier in the month, a lead-up event to the German Championship, the Erich F. Laeisz Preis, was also won by Stanjek/Kleen. The Lippincott Memorial, sailed just before the Western Hemispheres in Annapolis, was won by Iain Murray and Andrew Palfrey. The Zugerseemeisterschaft, won by Christoph Gautschi/Juerg Koenig, and the Jungfrau Trophy, won by Marazzi/Huter, were held just before the Swiss Championship.

Also sailed in Germany in May were the Fruehlingspreis won by Axel Hampe/Chris Conrads and the Hammond-Perkin Trophy won by Hubert Merkelbach/Gerrit Bartel. The Heinz-Nixdorf-Pokal ((Uli Seidlitz Memorial) winners were Mathias Miller/Manuel Voight.

In Switzerland, Philipp Rotermund/Florian Fendt won the first regatta of the 2006 Swiss Grand Prix, the Bodenseemeisterschaft.

In Sweden, the first race of the Swedish 2006 Grand Prix Series at Vårfyren, Kullavik was won by Mats Johansson/Leif Möller. The Suunto Cup of the Finnish Grand Prix Series was won by Joni Leeve.

In France, the Coupe de la Ville d'Annecy winners were Jacques Borel Giraud/Bertrand de la Giclais.

In the USA, the Tulip Time Warm-Up in Michigan was won by Joe Londrigan/Chris Walner.

Latest Results

Submit your Regatta results for the front page
District 1 Memorial Day Series 05/27/2006 - 05/29/2006
District 2 MRYC Spring Star

05/06/2006 - 05/07/2006

District 17

2006 Eisbär-Regatta

05/13/2006 - 05/14/2006
District 18 Perez Penalba Cup 2006 05/13/2006

- more results -

Upcoming Events

Update your District's calendar
District 1 Tomahawk Regatta 06/03/2006 - 06/04/2006
District 13 2006 Pfingstbusch 06/03/2006 - 06/06/2006
District 13 2006 Pfingstregatta
06/03/2006 - 06/05/2006
District 18 2006 Winter Championship 06/03/2006 - 06/11/2006
District 14 XLII Trofeo Emilio Benetti 06/09/2006 - 06/11/2006

- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8265
ISCYRA Central Office
1545 Waukegan Road
Glenview, IL 60025-2185

Phone:  +1 847 729 0630
Fax:  +1 847 729 0718