March 2009

Star Class News


Classified Ads



Online Store

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers


Rolex Miami OCR - PRO Rich Raymond,
2nd Rick Peters,  3rd Petter Pedersen & Flavio Marazzi.
Photo by Rolex/Dan Nerney
Bill Allen, ISCYRA president, reports on getting 2009 off to a good start for the class. He also has announced three new members of the Judiciary Board.

Executive Secretary Barbara Beigel Vosbury has provided an overview of upcoming deadlines, membership status, and 2009 / 2010 world championships qualifying regattas.

The Technical Advisory Board issued a decision on the Velocitek navigation device.

The Western Hemisphere Championship will be in Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA on March 29 to April 3. The entry deadline is March 13th. Competitors wanting to take their boat to Mississippi directly after the Miami season can leave their boat and car at John Dane's Seaway Storage, 3247 Seaway Road, Gulfport, MS 39503 (map) phone 228-604-4600 or 228-276-1712. Pass Christian Yacht Club is the second oldest yacht club in the USA, founded in 1849.

The Eastern Hemisphere Championship dates are May 19-24 at Hyeres, France,

Human Interest
Star World Champion Hamish Pepper is featured in an article in the New Zealand Herald newspaper.

Racing Results of January-February 2009
The South American Championship
 was sailed at Valparaiso, Chile in mid-January. Winning the silver star (and all five races) were Rodrigo Zuazola and Robert Riegel.

At Nice, France, the 
Campionnat de Ligue Cote d'Azur was won by Julia and Graham Bailey and the C. L.Emoi Splash (on the first day of Carnival - cold but sunny) winners were father and son Jacques and Jean Francois Puissegur.

In Florida, USA, the Miami racing season continued with the Levin Memorial (won by John MacCausland and Kevin Murphy, and the Walker Cup (formerly the Biscayne Trophy) which was won by Peter O'Leary and Tim Goodbody. The Rolex Miami OCR had 31 entries for the ISAF World Cup event and first place was taken by Rick Merriman and Phil Trinter. The Zag Masters' Regatta brought out 25 skippers age 50 or over with Magnus Liljedahl and Peter Bromby winning the trophy.

At Viareggina, Italy the Trofeo Burlamacco winners were Massimiliano Antongiovanni and Paolo Saccenti and the
Campionato di Primavera was won by Antonio Tamburini and Renzo Ricci.

In Brazil, the Pre-Olympic Regatta was won by Lars Grael and Renato Moura and the 65th Darke de Mattos regatta winners were Daniel Wilcox and Affonso Abreu.

The Argentine Preolympica de Buenos Aires regatta winners were Alberto Zanetti and Gustavo Warburg.

South American Championship Podium

South American Championship
Photos by Patricio Lara

South American Championship

South American Champions Robert Riegel & Rodrigo Zuazola
Upcoming Events

Update your District's calendar
District 18 Argentine Nationals 3/04/2009 - 3/08/2009
District 17 2009 Split Olympic Sailing Week 3/04/2009 - 3/08/2009
District 7 Torneio Roberto Bueno 3/07/2009 - 3/08/2009
District 20 2009 Bacardi Cup 3/08/2009 - 3/13/2009
District 14 2009 Trofeo Citta di Como 3/14/2009 - 3/15/2009
District 13 Fruhjahrsverbandsregatta Alster 3/28/2009 - 3/29/2009

- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8384
ISCYRA Central Office
914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220
Annapolis, Maryland 21403 USA

Phone:  +1 443 458 5733
+1 443 458 5735