Photo Credit: FRIED ELLIOTT /

Harry Nye Trophy

Respecting the valued traditions of the Star Class, all Honor Award sailors are requested to display their highest award on their mainsail.
Gold for World Champions, Silver for Continental, Blue for District, Green for Novice.

Click to enlarge

The Harry Gale Nye Trophy recognizes an individual's outstanding contribution to the ISCYRA.  The trophy is named for Harry Gale Nye (1908-1987), who was twice Star World Champion (1942 and 1949) and served as Commodore of the Star Class ffrom 1955 to 1963. He also won the Bacardi Cup and the Cup of Cuba three times each.  A graduate of Yale University, Nye was for many years the owner of Murphy & Nye Sailmakers, Chicago, USA.

Walter von Hutschler
C. Stanley Ogilvy
Duarte Bello
William W. Parks
Otto Schlenzka
Peter Dierk Siemsen
Sir Durward Knowles
Paul Henderson
Dierk Thomsen
William Buchan
Harry Walker
Jack Rickard
Mario Caprile
John Koopman
John M. MacCausland
Riccardo Simoneschi
Rick Burgess, Sr.
Larry Whipple
Alex Haden
J. John Chiarella
Harry H. Adler
Bill Allen
Rune Carlsson